Contact information

Center for Governmental Studies
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115





Group PhotoProfessional Development Committee

Brian Day, Co-Chair

Mike Bersani, Co-Chair

This Committee is responsible to prepare recommendations to the Board of Directors for conference programming, document sharing, and articles and article formats for the Association’s journal.


Membership and Awards Committee

Jim Rhodes, Chair

This Committee is responsible for recruiting new Members and determining Membership targets in order to broaden the Membership base. Prior to the Association’s Annual Conference this Committee will present its recommendation to the Board of Directors for awards to be presented to Members and distinguished attorneys during the luncheon held during the Annual Conference.


Nominating Committee

Jim Rhodes, Chair

This committee consists of five (5) members, one of whom is a Director and the Chair of the committee. This Committee is responsible for preparing a slate of Members it proposes to be elected to serve on the Board of Directors and shall complete the slate at least ten (10) days prior to the Annual Business Meeting. During the Annual Meeting, the Chairman of the Nominating Committee shall make its report to the general Membership and nominate the Members on the slate to stand for election to the Board of Directors at that Annual Meeting.


Communications and Technology Committee

Fred Stavins, Chair

This Committee is responsible for oversight and assistance in the promotion of the Association’s communications with its Members and others, including its campaigns for additional Members and sponsors, the ILGL Member Listserv, the ILGL Journal, the ILGL website and social media such as Facebook, LinkedIn and other forms of media as needed.


The Municipal Prosecutors Group

Michael Santschi, Co-Chair

Aly Harms, Co-Chair

This committee is composed of an unlimited number of individuals being lawyers actively engaged in the prosecution of local ordinance violations. The Steering Committee shall be responsible for hosting at least one program annually geared toward municipal prosecutors and for preparing recommendations to the full Board of Directors as it deems appropriate. The Steering Committee shall select one (1) of its members to serve as the ex officio voting member of the Board of Directors.


If you are interested in volunteering on a committee, please fill out the form below:

Committee of Interest
  • Illinois Local Government Lawyers Association
    Alli Hoebing, Executive Director, Center for Governmental Studies
    148 North 3rd Street
    Northern Illinois University
    DeKalb, IL 60115
  • Phone: 815-753-5333 | Email: | Fax: 815-753-7278